Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport Minutes of Proceedings Report


Mr Gerald Kaufman, in the Chair

Mr Chris BryantRosemary McKenna
Mr Frank DoranMs Debra Shipley
Michael FabricantJohn Thurso
Mr Adrian FlookDerek Wyatt
Alan Keen

The Committee deliberated.

The sport of swimming:

Mr Paul Velluet, English Heritage, Ms Gill Wright, Manchester Victoria Baths Trust, Mr Savio D'Souza, Govanhill Pool, Glasgow, Ms Carolyn Clark, Haggerston Pool Action Group, Hackney and Ms Barbara Corr, Friends of Marshall Street Baths, Soho were examined.

Mr David Sparkes, Chief Executive, Mr Noel Winter, Facilities Officer, and Mr Kelvin Juba, Amateur Swimming Association, Mr David Carpenter, Director of Lottery Co­ordination and More Medals Directorate, and Mr David Payne, Director, More Places Directorate, Sport England, and Mr Ralph Riley, Chief Executive, Institute of Sport and Recreation Management, were examined.

Ms Anita Lonsbrough MBE, Ms Sharron Davies MBE, and Mr Duncan Goodhew MBE, were examined.

  [Adjourned till Tuesday 11 December at half­past Ten o'clock.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 13 February 2003