Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport First Report

The Culture, Media and Sport Committee: Membership and Powers

The Culture, Media and Sport Committee is appointed to examine, on behalf of the House of Commons, the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and its associated public bodies. The Committee's constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of 11 Members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and, unless discharged, remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows[1]:

    Mr Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)
    Mr Frank Doran MP (Labour, Aberdeen Central)
    Michael Fabricant MP (Conservative, Lichfield)
    Mr Adrian Flook MP (Conservative, Taunton)
    Mr Gerald Kaufman MP (Labour, Manchester Gorton)
    Alan Keen MP (Labour, Feltham and Heston)
    Miss Julie Kirkbride MP (Conservative, Bromsgrove)
    Rosemary McKenna MP (Labour, Cumbernauld and Kilsyth)
    Ms Debra Shipley MP (Labour, Stourbridge)
    John Thurso MP (Liberal Democrat, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross)
    Derek Wyatt MP (Labour, Sittingbourne and Sheppey)

At its first meeting, on 19 July 2001, the Committee elected Mr Gerald Kaufman as its Chairman.

The Committee has powers to require the submission of documents, examine witnesses and publish Reports to the House accompanied by the evidence it has gathered. The Committee may meet during the Adjournment of the House and may hold meetings away from Westminster. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 (departmentally-related committees) to deliberate, take evidence or consider draft Reports. The Committee may meet concurrently with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) or the Environmental Audit Committee to deliberate or take evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation Committees.

In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number and references to written evidence are indicated by 'Ev' followed by a page number. The formal proceedings of the Committee in agreeing this Report are set out immediately after the Report itself.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All Reports of the Committee, including published evidence, together with press notices issued by the Committee, are available on the Committee's homepage at on the Internet. Further details of the Committee's activities are given, for each parliamentary session, in the Sessional Returns series, and the Committee's Minutes of Proceedings, also published by The Stationery Office.

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6188; the Committee's e-mail address is

1  Appointed 19 July 2001. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 20 November 2001