Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport Third Report


The Culture, Media and Sport Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and its associated public bodies.

Mr Gerald Kaufman MP (Labour, Manchester Gorton) (Chairman)
Mr Chris Bryant MP(Labour, Rhondda)
Mr Frank Doran MP (Labour, Aberdeen Central)
Michael Fabricant MP (Conservative, Lichfield)
Mr Adrian Flook MP (Conservative, Taunton)
Alan Keen MP (Labour, Feltham and Heston)
Miss Julie Kirkbride MP(Conservative, Bromsgrove)
Rosemary McKenna MP(Labour, Cumbernauld and Kilsyth)
Ms Debra Shipley MP(Labour, Stourbridge)
John Thurso MP(Liberal Democrat, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross)
Derek Wyatt MP(Labour, Sittingbourne and Sheppey)

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in Standing Order No.152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are printed by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee since 1997 is set out inside the front cover.

In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number, for example, 'Ev 10'.

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6188; fax: 020 7219 2031; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 26 March 2002