Select Committee on Regulatory Reform Minutes of Proceedings Report


The Regulatory Reform Committee (previously the Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee) is appointed to consider and report to the House on proposals for regulatory reform orders under the Regulatory Reform Act 2001 and, subsequently, any ensuing draft regulatory reform order. It will also consider any "subordinate provisions order" made under the same Act.


The membership of the Committee during Session 2001-02 was as follows:[ 1]

Mr Peter Pike (Labour, Burnley) (appointed Chairman, 17 July 2001)

Mr Russell Brown (Labour, Dumfries)

Brian Cotter (Liberal Democrat, Weston-Super-Mare)

Mrs Claire Curtis-Thomas (Labour, Crosby)[ 2]

Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson (Ulster Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Mr Paul Goodman (Conservative, Wycombe)

Mr Dai Havard (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)[ 3]

Andy King (Labour, Rugby and Kenilworth)

Mr Mark Lazarowicz (Labour, Edinburgh North and Leith)[ 4]

Mr Andrew Love (Labour/Co-operative, Edmonton)

Chris Mole (Labour, Ipswich)[ 5]

Mr Denis Murphy (Labour, Wansbeck)

Dr Doug Naysmith (Labour/Co-operative, Bristol North West)

Andrew Rosindell, (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Anthony Steen (Conservative, Totnes)

Brian White (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)


The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No 141, available on the Internet via

On 14 May 2002, pursuant to a decision of the House, the Committee's name changed from the Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee to the Regulatory Reform Committee.


The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Committee's website



All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Regulatory Reform Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2837; the Committee's e-mail address is:

1  Ian Stewart was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 31 October 2001. Dr Ashok Kumar was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 8 January 2002. Mr David Chaytor was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 26 February 2002. John McDonnell was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 11 April 2002. John Cryer was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 13 May 2002. Back

2   Appointed on 11 April 2002. Back

3   Appointed on 31 October 2001. Back

4   Appointed on 8 January 2002. Back

5  Appointed on 26 February 2002. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 15 April 2003