Select Committee on Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Third Report

The Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to consider proposals for deregulation orders (under the Deregulation and Contracting Out Act 1994) and for regulatory reform orders (under section 6 of the Regulatory Reform Act 2001); and subsequently, any ensuing draft Deregulation Order or Regulatory Reform Order.

The Committee is required to examine each of these documents against a range of criteria specifically laid down in its Standing Order. In the case of proposals for orders, it is required to report to the House either that a draft order in the same terms as the proposals should be laid before the House; or that the proposals should be amended before a draft order is laid before the House; or that the order-making power should not be used in respect of the proposals. In the case of draft orders, it is required to report to the House its recommendation whether the draft order should be approved. Additionally, it may report to the House on any matter arising from its consideration of these documents.

The Committee also considers any 'subordinate provisions orders' which may be made subsequent to the making of a Regulatory Reform Order, and may report on them to the House.

The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No 141.

The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

    Mr Russell Brown (Labour, Dumfries)[2]
    Mr David Chaytor (Labour, Bury North)2
    Mr Brian Cotter (Liberal Democrat, Weston-Super-Mare)2
    Mr John Cryer (Labour, Hornchurch)2
    Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson (Ulster Unionist Party, Lagan Valley)2
    Mr Paul Goodman (Conservative, Wycombe)2
    Mr Dai Havard (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)[3]
    Mr Andy King (Labour, Rugby and Kenilworth)2
    Dr Ashok Kumar (Labour, Middlesbrough South and Cleveland East)2
    Mr Andrew Love (Labour/Co-op, Edmonton)2
    Mr John McDonnell (Labour, Hayes and Harlington)2
    Mr Denis Murphy (Labour, Wansbeck)2
    Dr Doug Naysmith (Labour/Co-op, Bristol North West)2
    Mr Peter Pike (Labour, Burnley)2
    Mr Andrew Rosindell, (Conservative, Romford)2
    Mr Anthony Steen (Conservative, Totnes)2
    Mr Brian White (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)2

Mr Peter Pike was elected Chairman on 17 July 2001.

1  Mr Ian Stewart (Labour, Eccles) was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged 31 October 2001. Back

2  Appointed on 16 July 2001. Back

3  Appointed on 31 October 2001. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 14 December 2001