Select Committee on Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Sixth Report


The Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee is appointed to consider proposals for deregulation orders (under the Deregulation and Contracting Out Act 1994) and for regulatory reform orders (under the Regulatory Reform Act 2001); and subsequently, any ensuing draft Deregulation Order or Regulatory Reform Order.

Current Membership

Mr Peter Pike (Labour, Burnley) (Chairman)
Mr Russell Brown (Labour, Dumfries)
Mr Brian Cotter (Liberal Democrat, Weston-Super-Mare)
Mr John Cryer (Labour, Hornchurch)
Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson (Ulster Unionist Party, Lagan Valley)
Mr Paul Goodman (Conservative, Wycombe)
Mr Dai Havard (Labour, Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)
Mr Andy King (Labour, Rugby and Kenilworth)
Mr Mark Lazarowicz (Labour, Edinburgh North and Leith)
Mr Andrew Love (Labour/Co-op, Edmonton)
Mr John McDonnell (Labour, Hayes and Harlington)
Mr Chris Mole (Labour, Ipswich)
Mr Denis Murphy (Labour, Wansbeck)
Dr Doug Naysmith (Labour/Co-op, Bristol North West)
Mr Andrew Rosindell, (Conservative, Romford)
Mr Anthony Steen (Conservative, Totnes)
Mr Brian White (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)

Dr Ashok Kumar (Labour, Middlesbrough South & Cleveland East) and Mr David Chaytor (Labour, Bury North) were also Members of the Committee during its consideration of the proposal which is the subject of this Report.

The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No 141, available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the current Parliament may be found at the back of this Report.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2837; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 4 March 2002