Select Committee on Defence Second Report

The Defence Committee

The Defence Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Defence (and any associated public bodies). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

    Mr James Cran, MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness)[2]

    Mr David Crausby MP (Labour, Bolton North East)[3]

    Mr Bruce George MP (Labour, Walsall South)3

    Mr Mike Hancock CBE MP (Liberal Democrat, Portsmouth South)3

    Mr Gerald Howarth MP (Conservative, Aldershot)3

    Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, North Durham)3

    Jim Knight MP (Labour, South Dorset)3

    Patrick Mercer MP (Conservative, Newark)3

    Syd Rapson BEM MP (Labour, Portsmouth North)3

    Mr Frank Roy MP (Labour, Motherwell and Wishaw)3

    Rachel Squire MP (Labour, Dunfermline West)3

On 18 July 2001, the Committee elected Mr Bruce George as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. It has the power to appoint a sub-committee. The Committee or its sub-committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. They may meet concurrently with other committees of either House for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports (and with sub-committees for the purpose of deliberating and taking evidence). They may exchange evidence with other committees and sub-committees.

In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number; references to the written evidence are indicated by 'Ev' followed by a page number.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at:

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Defence Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is 020 7219 5745; the Committee's e-mail address is

1  Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East) was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 29 October 2001 Back

2  Appointed on 29 October 2001 Back

3  Appointed on 16 July 2001 Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 18 December 2001