Select Committee on Defence Sixth Report


The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mr Bruce George MP (Labour, Walsall South) (Chairman)

Mr James Cran, MP (Conservative, Beverley and Holderness)

Mr David Crausby MP (Labour, Bolton North East)

Mr Mike Hancock CBE MP (Liberal Democrat, Portsmouth South)

Mr Gerald Howarth MP (Conservative, Aldershot)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, North Durham)

Jim Knight MP (Labour, South Dorset)

Patrick Mercer OBE MP (Conservative, Newark)

Syd Rapson BEM MP (Labour, Portsmouth North)

Mr Frank Roy MP (Labour, Motherwell and Wishaw)

Rachel Squire MP (Labour, Dunfermline West)



The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No.152. These are available on the Internet via .


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at . A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Defence Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone numbers for general inquiries are: 020 7219 5745/6872; the Committee's e-mail address is: .


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'.


contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 24 July 2002