Select Committee on Education and Skills Minutes of Proceedings Report


Members present:

Mr Barry Sheerman, in the Chair

Mr David ChaytorMs Meg Munn
Valerie DaveyJonathanShaw
Jeff EnnisMr Mark Simmonds
Paul HolmesMr Andrew Turner

The Committee deliberated.

Teaching Unions: Mr Doug McAvoy, General Secretary, and Mr John Bangs, Assistant Secretary for Education and Equal Opportunities, National Union of Teachers, were examined.

Mr Nigel de Gruchy, General Secretary, and Mr Eamonn O'Kane, General Secretary elect, NASUWT, were examined.

Ms Jean Gemmell, General Secretary and Phillip Parkin, Council Member, Professional Association of Teachers, were examined.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 16 January 2002 at half-past Nine o'clock.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 27 March 2003