Select Committee on Education and Skills First Special Report

The Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of 11 members, of whom the quorum is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:

    Mr David Chaytor (Labour, Bury North)
    Valerie Davey (Labour, Bristol South)
    Jeff Ennis (Labour, Etherington)
    Paul Holmes (Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield)
    Ms Meg Munn (Labour, Sheffield Heeley)
    Mr Kerry Pollard (Labour, St Albans)
    Mr Laurence Robertson (Conservative, Tewkesbury)
    Mr Jonathan R Shaw (Labour, Chatham and Aylesford)
    Mr Barry Sheerman (Labour, Huddersfield)
    Bob Spink (Conservative, Castle Point)
    Mr Andrew Turner (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

The Committee has the power to send for persons, papers and records, to make Reports to the House and to appoint a sub-committee.

The Committee may meet notwithstanding any adjournment of the House and may travel within the United Kingdom and abroad.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education and Skills Committee,7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6181/1352; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 20 July 2001