Select Committee on Education and Skills First Report


The Education and Skills Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mr Barry Sheerman MP ( Labour, Huddersfield) (Chairman)
Mr John Baron MP (Conservative, Billericay)
Mr David Chaytor MP (Labour, Bury North)
Valerie Davey MP (Labour, Bristol West)
Jeff Ennis MP (Labour, Barnsley East & Mexborough)
Paul Holmes MP (Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield)
Ms Meg Munn MP (Labour, Sheffield Heeley)
Mr Kerry Pollard MP (Labour, St Albans)
Mr Jonathan R Shaw MP (Labour, Chatham and Aylesford)
Mr Mark Simmonds MP (Conservative, Boston & Skegness)
Mr Andrew Turner MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in S.O. No.152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Education and Skills Committee, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 1376/6181. The Committee's e-mail address is:

In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 14 February 2002