Select Committee on Education and Skills Second Special Report

The Education and Skills Committee

The Education and Skills Committee is appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Education and Skills and its associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mr Barry Sheerman (Labour, Huddersfield) Chairman

Mr John Baron (Conservative, Billericay)

Mr David Chaytor (Labour, Bury North)

Valerie Davey (Labour, Bristol South)

Jeff Ennis (Labour, Barnsley East and Mexborough)

Paul Holmes (Liberal Democrat, Chesterfield)

Ms Meg Munn (Labour, Sheffield Heeley)

Mr Kerry Pollard (Labour, St Albans)

Jonathan Shaw (Labour, Chatham & Aylesford)

Mr Mark Simmonds (Conservative, Boston and Skegness)

Mr Andrew Turner (Conservative, Isle of Wight)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in S.O. No 152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Education and Skills Committee,7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6181/1376. The Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 13 March 2002