Select Committee on Environmental Audit Minutes of Proceedings Report

The Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the contribution of the policies and programmes of government to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit performance against targets set by Ministers; and to report thereon. The constitution and powers are set out in full in Standing Order No. 152A.

The Committee has up to sixteen members of whom a quorum for any formal proceedings is four. Members are appointed by the House and, unless discharged, remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. At the end of the 2001-02 Session, the membership of the Committee was:†
Mr Gregory Barker

(Conservative, Bexhill and Battle)‡

Mr Jon Owen Jones

 (Labour/Co-op, Cardiff Central)

Mr Harold Best

 (Labour, Leeds Northwest)

Mr Ian Lucas

(Labour, Wrexham)

Mr Colin Challen

(Labour, Morley and Rothwell)

Rt Hon. Michael Meacher

(Labour, Oldham West & Royton)‡

Mrs Helen Clark ‡‡

(Labour, Peterborough)

Mr Malcolm Savidge

(Labour, Aberdeen North)

Sue Doughty

(Liberal Democrat, Guildford)

Mr Mark Simmonds

(Conservative , Boston and Skegness)

Mr Mark Francois

(Conservative, Rayleigh)

Mr Simon Thomas

(Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion)

Mr Neil Gerrard

(Labour, Walthamstow)

Joan Walley

(Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

Mr John Horam

(Conservative, Orpington)

Mr David Wright

(Labour, Telford)

Mr John Horam was elected Chairman by the Committee on 18 July 2001.

The Committee has power to invite written evidence, require the submission of documents, examine witnesses and publish reports to the House accompanied by the evidence it has gathered.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued between sessions or dissolved pending a general election) and may do so away from Westminster. It may inform itself by visits abroad and by the use of specialist advisers. The Committee may meet concurrently with the departmentally-related select committees, European Scrutiny Committee and any Lords committee; and may communicate its documents and evidence to any other committee appointed by either House.


Committee reports, evidence and minutes of proceedings are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. The Minutes of Proceedings relating to individual reports are published with the relevant report.

Committee publications (including press notices) are available on the Internet at—the EAC homepage. Further details of the Committee's activities are given for each parliamentary session in the Sessional Returns series also published by The Stationery Office.

All correspondence should be addressed to: The Clerk, Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for inquiries is: 020 7219-5776 (fax:-1224); E-mail:

†Members were appointed to the Committee on 16 July 2001 unless otherwise indicated.

‡ Mr Meacher is ex-officio (like the Financial Secretary on the Committee of Public Accounts); Mr Barker was added on 5 November 2001 and Mr Challen on 19 July 2001.

‡‡née Brinton

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 15 January 2003