Select Committee on Environmental Audit Fourth Report



The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty's Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Current Membership

Mr John Horam MP (Conservative, Orpington) (Chairman)

Mr Gregory Barker MP (Conservative, Bexhill and Battle)

Mr Harold Best MP (Labour, Leeds North West)

Mr Colin Challen MP (Labour, Morley and Rothwell)

Mrs Helen Clark MP (Labour, Peterborough)

Sue Doughty MP (Liberal Democrat, Guildford)

Mr Mark Francois MP (Conservative, Rayleigh)

Mr Neil Gerrard MP (Labour, Walthamstow)

Mr Jon Owen Jones MP (Labour, Cardiff Central)

Mr Ian Lucas MP (Labour, Wrexham)

Rt Hon. Michael Meacher MP (Labour, Oldham West & Royton)

Mr Malcolm Savidge MP (Labour, Aberdeen North)

Mr Mark Simmonds MP (Conservative, Boston and Skegness)

Mr Simon Thomas MP (Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion)

Joan Walley MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent North)

David Wright MP (Labour, Telford)


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally Standing Order No. 152A. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee since 1997 is printed on the inside front cover of this volume.


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk, Environmental Audit Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6150; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 11 July 2002