Select Committee on Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Seventh Special Report

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and its associated public bodies.

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of whichare set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No.152. These are available on the Internet via . The Committee has the power to appoint two Sub-committees.

Current Membership

Mr David Curry (Chairman) (Conservative, Skipton and Ripon)
Mr David Borrow (Labour, South Ribble)  
Mr Colin Breed (Liberal Democrat, South East Cornwall)
David Burnside (Ulster Unionist, South Antrim)
Mr David Drew (Labour, Stroud)
Patrick Hall (Labour, Bedford)
Mr Michael Jack (Conservative, Fylde)
Mr David Lepper (Labour, Brighton Pavilion)
Mr Eric Martlew (Labour, Carlisle)
Mr Austin Mitchell (Labour, Great Grimsby)
Diana Organ (Labour, Forest of Dean)
Phil Sawford (Labour, Kettering)
Mrs Gillian Shephard (Conservative, South West Norfolk)
Mr Keith Simpson (Conservative, Mid Norfolk)
David Taylor (Labour, North West Leicestershire)
Paddy Tipping (Labour, Sherwood)
Mr Mark Todd (Labour, South Derbyshire)

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet on its website, which can be reached via

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 3262; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 24 October 2002