Select Committee on Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Minutes of Proceedings Report


Members present:

Mr David Curry, in the Chair

Mr David BorrowPatrick Hall
Mr Austin MitchellDavid Taylor
Mr Colin BreedMr Michael Jack
Diana OrganMr Mark Todd
Mr David DrewMr David Lepper
Phil Sawford

The Committee deliberated.

Ordered, That the Sub-committee on Radioactive Waste Policy have the following Orders of Reference: "Following publication by the Government of the document Managing Radioactive Waste Safely, and the continuing consultation about the document, the Committee has also decided to consider radioactive waste policy. It will examine: the timetable of, and progress made thus far in, the consultation exercise; what difficulties arise from current radioactive waste policy, including consideration of what should be defined as waste; and the impact that future decommissioning of nuclear power plants, any construction of new plants, and the commencement of MOX production at Sellafield will have on radioactive waste policy.".—(The Chairman.)

Ordered, That Mr David Borrow, Mr Colin Breed, Mr David Curry, Mr David Drew, Patrick Hall, Mr Michael Jack, Mr David Lepper, Mr Stephen O'Brien and Diana Organ be members of the Radioactive Waste Policy Sub-committee.—(The Chairman.)

Ordered, That Mr David Curry be Chairman of the Radioactive Waste Policy Sub-committee.—(The Chairman.)

Update following the Bonn Meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol, and other environmental issues: Rt Hon Michael Meacher, a Member of the House, Minister of State (Environment), and Sarah Hendry, Head of Global Atmosphere Division, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, were examined.

  [Adjourned till Wednesday 31 October at Ten o'clock.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 3 February 2003