Select Committee on Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Minutes of Proceedings Report


Members present:

Mr David Curry, in the Chair

Mr David BorrowMr David Drew
Mr Michael JackPhil Sawford
Mr Colin BreedPatrick Hall
Mr Eric MartlewDavid Taylor
David BurnsideMr David Lepper
Diana OrganMr Mark Todd

The Committee deliberated.

 Ordered, That Professor Andrew Blowers and Mr Peter Beck be appointed Specialist Advisers to assist the Radioactive Waste Policy Sub-committee.—(The Chairman.)

Resolved, That the Radioactive Waste Policy Sub-committee do visit Sellafield.—(The Chairman.)

David Burnside declared a pecuniary interest as the owner of farmland in County Antrim.

The Impact of Foot and Mouth Disease: Mr Jim Scudamore, Chief Veterinary Officer, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, was further examined and Mr Roy Hathaway, Head of Foot and Mouth Disease Division, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, was examined.

Sir Don Curry, CBE, Chairman, and Mr James Quinault, Secretary, Policy Commission on the Future of Farming and Food, were examined.

  [Adjourned till Tuesday 6 November at a quarter to Ten o'clock.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 3 February 2003