Select Committee on Foreign Affairs Second Report

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (and any associated public bodies). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three (except when it meets concurrently with another select committee to take oral evidence, when its quorum is two). The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows: 1

    Rt Hon Donald Anderson MP (Labour, Swansea East)1
    David Chidgey MP (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh)1
    Sir Patrick Cormack MP (Conservative, Staffordshire South)1
    Fabian Hamilton MP (Labour, Leeds North East)1
    Eric Illsley MP (Labour, Barnsley Central)1
    Andrew Mackinlay MP (Labour, Thurrock)1
    John Maples MP (Conservative, Stratford-on-Avon)1
    Bill Olner MP (Labour, Nuneaton)1
    Greg Pope MP (Labour, Hyndburn)1
    Rt Hon Sir John Stanley MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)1
    Gisela Stuart MP (Labour, Birmingham Edgbaston)1

On 19 July 2001, the Committee elected Mr Donald Anderson as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number, references to the written evidence are indicated by 'Ev.' followed by a page number, or where written evidence is contained in an Appendix, 'Ev.' followed by a page number followed by 'Appendix...'.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any other select committee or sub-committee of either House of Parliament, it may meet concurrently with any of these committees for the purpose of deliberating or taking evidence, and with any other select committee of the House of Commons for the purpose of considering draft reports. The Committee may appoint one sub-committee.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is published inside the front cover of this Volume.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone numbers for general inquiries are: 020 7219 6106/6105/6394; the Committee's e-mail address is:

1 Appointed 18 July 2001.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 18 December 2001