Select Committee on Foreign Affairs Sixth Report



4-7 March 2002

Members taking part: Mr Donald Anderson (Chairman), Mr David Chidgey, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Mr Andrew Mackinlay, Ms Gisela Stuart


Monday 4 March

    Peter Westmacott, HM Ambassador, David Fitton, Deputy Head of Mission and Laurie Bristow, Head of Political Section

Tuesday 5 March

    Ms Karen Fogg, Head of European Commission delegation

    Hikmet Sami Türk, Minister of Justice

    NGOs: Human Rights Association, Amnesty International, Mazlum-DER, Flying Broom, Association for Solidarity with Asylum Seekers and Migrants

    Ambassador Volkan Vural, Chairman of the EU Secretariat-General

    Senior officials at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, led by Ambassador Solmaz Unaydin, Director General for Policy Planning

    Murat Bozlak, Chairman, and Ahmet Turan Demir, Deputy Chairman of HADEP

Wednesday 6 March

    Ambassador Ali Tuygan, Deputy Under-Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

    Foreign Affairs Committee of the Turkish Grand National Assembly

    Visit to British Council

    Sabahattin Çakmako_lu, Minister for National Defence


    Roger Short, HM Consul-General

    Gareth Jenkins

Thursday 7 March

    Turkish Economic and Social Studies Foundation (TESEV)

    NGOs: Human Rights Association, Mazlum-DER, Migrants Social Solidarity and Culture Association, Istanbul Bar Association, Freedom of Expression campaigner

    Cem Duna, Board Member, Turkish Industrialists' and Businessmen's Association (TÜSIAD)

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 30 April 2002