Select Committee on Home Affairs First Report


The Home Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Home Office and the Lord Chancellor's Department, and their associated public bodies; the administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office.

Current Membership

Mr Chris Mullin MP (Labour, Sunderland South) (Chairman)

Mr David Cameron MP (Conservative, Witney)

Mr James Clappison MP (Hertsmere)

Mrs Janet Dean MP (Labour, Burton)

Bridget Prentice MP (Labour, Lewisham East)

Mr Gwyn Prosser MP (Labour, Dover)

Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)

Mr Marsha Singh MP (Labour, Bradford West)

Mr Tom Watson MP (Labour, West Bromwich East)

Miss Ann Widdecombe MP (Maidstone and The Weald)

David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)

The following were also members of the Committee during this inquiry:

Mr Humfrey Malins MP (Conservative, Woking)

Angela Watkinson MP (Conservative, Upminster)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No.152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee since Session 1995-96 is on the inside front cover of this Report.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 3276; the Committee's e-mail address is:


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 5 December 2002