Select Committee on Home Affairs First Report

The Home Affairs Committee: Membership and Powers

The Home Affairs Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Home Office and associated public bodies; the policy, administration and expenditure of the Lord Chancellor's Department (including the work of staff provided for the administrative work of courts and tribunals, but excluding consideration of individual cases and appointments); and the administration and expenditure of the Attorney General's Office, the Treasury Solicitor's Department, the Crown Prosecution Service and the Serious Fraud Office (but excluding individual cases and appointments and advice given within government by Law Officers). The Committee's constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has 11 Members, of whom the quorum is three. The Members of the Committee are appointed by the House and, unless discharged, remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

    Mr Chris Mullen MP (Labour, Sunderland South) (Chairman)[2]
    Mr David Cameron MP (Conservative, Witney)
    Mrs Janet Dean MP (Labour, Burton)
    Mr Humfrey Malins MP (Conservative, Woking)
    Bridget Prentice MP (Labour, Lewisham East)
    Mr Gwyn Prosser MP (Labour, Dover)
    Bob Russell MP (Liberal Democrat, Colchester)
    Mr Marsha Singh MP (Labour, Bradford West)
    Angela Watkinson MP (Conservative, Upminster)
    Mr Tim Watson MP (Labour, West Bromwich East)
    David Winnick MP (Labour, Walsall North)

The Committee has powers to require the submission of documents, to examine witnesses and to publish reports to the House accompanied by the evidence it has gathered. The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and may hold meetings away from Westminster. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 for the purposes of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may meet concurrently with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) or the Environmental Audit Committee for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation Committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All Reports of the Committee, including published evidence, together with press notices issued by the Committee, are available on the Committee's home page at on the Internet. All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Home Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 3276; the Committee's e-mail address is

1   Appointed on 16 July 2001. Back

2   Elected Chairman on 18 July 2001. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 19 November 2001