Select Committee on Health First Report


The Health Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department of Health and its associated bodies.

Current Membership

  Mr David Hinchliffe MP (Labour, Wakefield) (Chairman)

  Mr David Amess MP (Conservative, Southend West)

  John Austin MP (Labour, Erith and Thamesmead)

  Andy Burnham MP (Labour, Leigh)

  Simon Burns MP (Conservative, Chelmsford West)

  Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West)

  Julia Drown MP (Labour, South Swindon)

  Sandra Gidley MP (Liberal Democrat, Romsey)

  Siobhain McDonagh MP (Labour, Mitcham and Morden)

  Dr Doug Naysmith MP (Labour, Bristol North West)

  Dr Richard Talor MP (Independent, Wyre Forest)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in the House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via .


The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at—committees/health—committee .


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Health Committee, House of Commons Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6182. The Committee's e-mail address is: .

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 12 March 2003