Select Committee on Information First Report

The Information Committee

The Information Committee is appointed to consider the services provided for the House with regard to information. The powers and constitution of the Committee are set out in Standing Order No. 142, which can be viewed on the Internet at

Current Membership
Mr Richard Allan MP (Liberal Democrat - Sheffield Hallam)
Michael Fabricant MP (Conservative - Lichfield)
Mr Neil Gerrard MP (Labour - Walthamstow)
Mr Peter Luff MP (Conservative - Worcestershire Mid)
John Mann MP (Labour - Bassetlaw)
Ann McKechin MP (Labour - Glasgow Maryhill)
Margaret Moran MP (Labour - Cardiff North)
Mr Gwyn Prosser MP (Labour - Dover)
Jim Sheridan MP (Labour - Renfrewshire West)

On 22 October 2001, the Committee elected Michael Fabricant as its Chairman.

The following were also members of the Committee during this Parliament:
Mr Michael Connarty (Labour - Falkirk East)
Julia Drown (Labour - South Swindon)

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Information Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 219 3275; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 15 July 2002