some default text...
Select Committee on International Development First Report

The International Development Committee

The International Development Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for International Development. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven Members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee since its nomination on 16 July 2001 is as follows:

    Tony Baldry (Banbury, Conservative) (added 19.07.2001)
    Mr John Battle (Leeds West, Labour)
    Hugh Bayley (City of York, Labour)
    Mr Alistair Burt (NE Bedfordshire, Labour) (discharged 22.11.2001)
    Mr Alistair Carmichael (Orkeny and Shetland, Liberal Democrat) (added 05.11.2001)
    Ann Clwyd MP (Cynon Valley, Labour)
    Mr Tony Colman MP (Putney, Labour)
    Mr Nigel Jones MP (Cheltenham, Liberal Democrat) (discharged 05.11.01)
    Mr Piara S Khabra MP (Ealing Southall, Labour)
    Mr Edward Leigh (discharged 19.07.2001)
    Chris McCafferty (Calder Valley, Labour)
    Mr Andrew Robathan MP (Blaby, Conservative)
    Mr Robert Walter (Dorset North, Labour) (added 22.11.2001)
    Tony Worthington MP (Clydebank and Milngavie, Labour)

    Tony Baldry was elected Chairman on 19 July 2001.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number, references to the written evidence are indicated by 'Ev' followed by a page number.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including Press Notices) are on the Internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the International Development Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 1221; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 20 December 2001