Select Committee on Liaison Second Report


The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; and to choose select committee reports for debate in the House.

Current Membership

Mr Alan Williams MP (Labour, Swansea West) (Chairman)

The Chairmen for the time being of the Select Committees listed below:

Accommodation and Works - Mr Derek Conway MP (Conservative, Old Bexley and Sidcup)

Administration - Mrs Marion Roe MP (Conservative, Broxbourne)

Broadcasting - Mr David Lepper MP (Labour/Co-op, Brighton Pavilion)

Catering - Mr Dennis Turner MP (Labour/Co-op, Wolverhampton South East)

Culture, Media and Sport - Mr Gerald Kaufman MP (Labour, Manchester Gorton)

Defence - Mr Bruce George MP (Labour, Walsall South)

Deregulation and Regulatory Reform - Mr Peter Pike MP (Labour, Burnley)

Education and Skills - Mr Barry Sheerman MP (Labour/Co-op, Huddersfield)

Environmental Audit - Mr John Horam MP (Conservative, Orpington)

 Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Mr David Curry MP (Conservative. Skipton and Ripon)

European Scrutiny - Mr Jimmy Hood MP (Labour, Clydesdale)

Finance and Services - Mr Stuart Bell MP (Labour, Middlesbrough)

Foreign Affairs - Mr Donald Anderson MP (Labour, Swansea East)

Health - Mr David Hinchliffe MP (Labour, Wakefield)

Home Affairs - Mr Chris Mullin MP (Labour, Sunderland South)

Joint Committee on Human Rights - Jean Corston MP (Labour, Bristol East)

Information - Mr Michael Fabricant MP (Conservative, Lichfield)

International Development - Mr Tony Baldry MP (Conservative, Banbury)

Northern Ireland Affairs - Mr Michael Mates MP (Conservative, East Hampshire)

Procedure - Mr Nicholas Winterton MP (Conservative, Macclesfield)

Public Accounts - Mr Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Public Administration - Dr Tony Wright (Labour, Cannock Chase)

Science and Technology - Dr Ian Gibson MP (Labour, Norwich North)

Scottish Affairs - Irene Adams MP (Labour, Paisley North)

Selection - Mr John McWilliam MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Standards and Privileges - Sir George Young, MP (Conservative, North West Hampshire)

Statutory Instruments - Mr David Tredinnick MP (Labour, Bosworth)

Trade and Industry - Mr Martin O'Neill MP (Labour, Ochil)

Transport, Local Government and the Regions - Mr Andrew Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish) or Hon Gwyneth Dunwoody MP (Labour, Crewe and Nantwich)

Treasury - Mr John McFall MP (Labour/Co-op, Dumbarton)

Welsh Affairs - Mr Martyn Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South)

Work and Pensions - Mr Archy Kirkwood MP (Liberal Democrat, Roxburgh and Berwickshire)

and Mr Richard Allan MP (Liberal Democrat, Sheffield Hallam)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 145. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House . All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee since 1997 is on the inside front cover.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Liaison Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London, SW1A OAA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6432; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 19 March 2002