Select Committee on Northern Ireland Affairs Fourth Report

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office; administration and expenditure of the Crown Solicitor's Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel).

Current Membership
Mr Michael Mates, MP (Conservative, East Hampshire) (Chairman)
Mr Adrian Bailey, MP (Labour / Co-operative, West Bromwich West)
Mr Harry Barnes, MP (Labour, North East Derbyshire)
Mr Roy Beggs, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, East Antrim)
Mr Henry Bellingham, MP (Conservative, North West Norfolk)
Mr Tony Clarke, MP (Labour, Northampton South)
Mr Stephen McCabe, MP (Labour, Birmingham Hall Green)
Mr Eddie McGrady, MP (Socialist Democratic Labour Party, South Down)
Mr Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North)
Mr Peter Robinson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Belfast)
Rev Martin Smyth, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, Belfast South)
Mr Mark Tami, MP (Labour, Alyn & Deeside)
Mr Bill Tynan, MP (Labour, Hamilton South)

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2172/3; the Committee's fax number is 020 7219 0580; and the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 2 July 2002