Select Committee on Public Accounts Minutes of Proceedings Report


Members present:

Mr Richard BaconMr Edward Leigh
Mr Ian DavidsonMr George Osborne
Geraint DaviesMr David Rendel
Mr Barry GardinerMr Gerry Steinberg
Mr Brian JenkinsMr Alan Williams

In the absence of the Chairman, Mr Alan Williams was called to the Chair.

The Committee deliberated.

Resolved, That the Committee congratulate the Chairman, Mr David Davis, on his appointment as Chairman of the Conservative Party and place on record its appreciation of his significant contribution during his Chairmanship to the work of the Committee, the National Audit Office and the Executive towards improving the value for money delivery of public services.—(Mr Alan Williams).

The Committee further deliberated (election of Chairman).

Resolved, That Mr Edward Leigh take the Chair of the Committee in the place of Mr David Davis.

Mr Edward Leigh's relevant interests were noted (see Appendix).[2]

Sir John Bourn KCB, Comptroller and Auditor General was further examined.

Mr Glenn Hull, Second Treasury Officer of Accounts, was examined.

The Comptroller and Auditor General's Report on Handling Clinical Negligence Claims in England (HC 403) was considered.

Sir Hayden Phillips KCB, Permanent Secretary, Lord Chancellor's Department, and Clerk of the Crown in Chancery; Mr Nigel Crisp, Permanent Secretary, Department of Health; Mr Stephen Orchard, Chief Executive, Legal Services Commission; and Mr Stephen Walker, Chief Executive, NHS Litigation Authority, were examined (HC 280-i).

[Adjourned until Monday 22 October at half past Four o'clock.

2   Details of the declaration are set out together with those of other Members of the Committee as an Appendix to these Minutes of Proceedings. Back

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 5 February 2003