Select Committee on Public Accounts Minutes of Proceedings Report


  Members present:

  Mr Edward Leigh, in the Chair

Mr Richard BaconMr George Osborne
Geraint DaviesMr David Rendel
Mr Barry GardinerJon Trickett
Mr Nick GibbMr Alan Williams
Mr Brian Jenkins

Sir John Bourn KCB, Comptroller and Auditor General, was further examined..

The Committee deliberated.

Mr Brian Glicksman, Treasury Officer of Accounts, was examined.

The Comptroller and Auditor General's Report on Delivering the Commercialisation of Public Sector Science (HC 580) was considered.

Mr Robin Young, Permanent Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry; Mr John Taylor OBE, Director General of the Research Councils, Office of Science and Technology, Department of Trade and Industry; Professor Julia Goodfellow CBE, Chief Executive, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council; Professor Sir George Radda CBE, Chief Executive, Medical Research Council; and Professor John Lawton CBE, Chief Executive, Natural Environment Research Council, were examined (HC 689-i).

A division of the House being called, the Chairman suspended the meeting for ten minutes.

The Committee resumed.

The witnesses were further examined.

The witnesses withdrew.

The National Audit Office Supply Estimate 2002-03, and the Comptroller and Auditor General's memorandum on the Estimate, were considered.

Sir John Bourn KCB, Comptroller and Auditor General, and Mr Tim Burr, Deputy Comptroller and Auditor General, National Audit Office, were further examined; Ms Caroline Mawhood, Assistant Auditor General, National Audit Office, was examined (HC 690-i).

Resolved, That the Committee support the National Audit Office net Estimate of £51.6 million for the year 2002-03.—(The Chairman).

Resolved, That the Public Accounts Commission be advised of the Resolution come to this day in respect of the National Audit Office Estimate for 2002-03.—(The Chairman).

[Adjourned until Wednesday 13 March at Four o'clock.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 5 February 2003