Select Committee on Public Accounts Minutes of Proceedings Report


  Members present:

  Mr Edward Leigh, in the Chair

Mr Richard BaconMr George Osborne
Mr Ian DavidsonMr David Rendel
Geraint DaviesJon Trickett
Mr Nick GibbMr Alan Williams
Mr Brian Jenkins

Mr Tim Burr, Deputy Comptroller and Auditor General, was further examined.

The Committee deliberated.

Lorraine Constable, Assistant Treasury Officer of Accounts, was further examined.

The Comptroller and Auditor General's Report on Public Private Partnerships: Airwave (HC 730) was considered.

Mr John Gieve CB, Permanent Secretary, Home Office, was further examined; and Mr Philip Webb, Chief Executive, Police Information Technology Organisation; Mr Jeff Parris, Vice President, Airwave mm02; Mr Vaughan Asque, Head of Radio Frequency and Communications Planning Branch, Science and Technology Unit, Home Office; and Mr Jeremy Colman, Assistant Auditor General, National Audit Office, were examined (HC 783-i).

The witnesses withdrew.

The Committee further deliberated (NAO Report on Portcullis House) (revision of the Committee's programme) (draft Report on Improving Air Quality).

Draft Report (Postcomm: Opening the post), proposed by the Chairman, brought up and read.

Ordered, That the draft Report be read a second time, paragraph by paragraph.

Paragraphs 1 to 3 read and agreed to.

Paragraph 4 read, amended and agreed to.

Paragraph 5 postponed.

Paragraphs 6 to 8 read and agreed to.

Paragraph 9 read, amended and agreed to.

Paragraphs 10 to 23 read and agreed to.

Paragraph 24 read, amended and agreed to.

Paragraphs 25 to 39 read and agreed to.

Postponed paragraph 5 read and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report, as amended, be the Thirty-first Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Report to the House.

Ordered, That the provisions of Standing Order No. 134 (Select Committees (Reports)) be applied to the Report.

[Adjourned until Wednesday 24 April at Four o'clock.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 5 February 2003