Select Committee on Public Accounts Twentieth Report

Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine "the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit" (Standing Order No. 148).

Current Membership

Mr Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough) (Chairman)

Mr Richard Bacon MP (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Rt Hon Paul Boateng MP (Labour, Brent South)

Mr Ian Davidson MP (Labour, Glasgow Pollok)

Mr Geraint Davies MP (Labour, Croydon Central)

Mr Barry Gardiner MP (Labour, Brent North)

Mr Nick Gibb MP (Conservative, Bognor Regis and Littlehampton)

Mr Brian Jenkins MP (Labour, Tamworth)

Mr George Osborne MP (Conservative, Tatton)

Mr David Rendel MP (Liberal Democrat, Newbury)

Mr Gerry Steinberg MP (Labour, City of Durham)

Mr Jon Trickett MP (Labour, Hemsworth)

Rt Hon Alan Williams MP (Labour, Swansea West)

The following were also members of the Committee during this inquiry: Rt Hon David Davis MP (Conservative, Haltemprice and Howden), Mr Simon Burns MP (Conservative, Chelmsford West), Mr Alan Campbell MP (Labour, Tynemouth), Mr David Faber MP (Conservative, Westbury), Mr Nigel Griffiths MP (Labour, Edinburgh South), Mr Andrew Love MP (Labour, Edmonton), Mr Jim Murphy MP (Labour, Eastwood), and Mr Stephen Timms MP (Labour, East Ham).


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 148. These are available on the Internet via


The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at . A list of reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this Report.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Committee of Public Accounts, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 0207-219-5708. The Committee's e-mail address is: .


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number; references to the written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev, Appendix...', followed by a page number.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 8 March 2002