Select Committee on Public Administration Fifth Report


The Public Administration Select Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the reports of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration, of the Health Service Commissioners for England, Scotland and Wales and of the Parliamentary Ombudsman for Northern Ireland, which are laid before this House, and matters in connection therewith and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by civil service departments, and other matters relating to the civil service; and the committee shall consist of eleven Members.

Current Membership

Tony Wright (Labour, Cannock Chase) (Chairman)

Mr Kevin Brennan (Labour, Cardiff West)

Annette Brooke (Liberal Democrat, Mid Dorset and Poole North)

Mr David Heyes (Labour, Ashton under Lyne)

Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Conservative, Bridgewater)

Mr John Lyons (Labour, Strathkelvin and Bearsden)

Mr Gordon Prentice (Labour, Pendle)

Mr Anthony Steen (Conservative, Totnes)

Hon Michael Trend, CBE (Conservative, Windsor)

Mr Brian White (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)

Mr Anthony D Wright (Labour, Great Yarmouth)


The Committee's powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 146. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee since 1997 is at the back of this volume.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Public Administration Select Committee, Committee Office, First Floor, Portcullis House, London SW1A 2LW. The telephone number for general enquiries is: 020 7219 3284; the Committee's e-mail address is:


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the page number as in 'Ev 12'.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 14 February 2002