Select Committee on Scottish Affairs First Report

The Scottish Affairs Committee

The Scottish Affairs Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Scotland Office (including (i) relations with the Scottish Parliament and (ii) administration and expenditure of the offices of the Advocate General for Scotland (but excluding individual cases and advice given within government by the Advocate General)). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

    Mrs Irene Adams MP (Labour, Paisley North)[2]
    Mr Peter Atkinson MP (Conservative, Hexham)[3]
    Mr Alistair Carmichael MP (Liberal Democrat, Orkney and Shetland)[3]
    Mr Peter Duncan MP (Conservative, Galloway and Upper Nithsdale)[3]
    Mr Eric Joyce MP (Labour, Falkirk West)[3]
    Mr Mark Lazarowicz MP (Labour/Co-op, Edinburgh North and Leith)[3]
    Mr John Lyons MP (Labour, Strathkelvin and Bearsden)[3]
    Ann McKechin MP (Labour, Glasgow Maryhill)[3]
    Mr John Robertson MP (Labour, Glasgow Anniesland)[3]
    Mr Mohammed Sarwar MP (Labour, Glasgow Govan)[3]
    Mr Michael Weir MP (SNP, Angus)[3]

    On 17 October 2001, the Committee elected Mrs Irene Adams as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. Evidence for this inquiry has been published in several House of Commons papers over three Sessions. The full House of Commons Paper references are given in all footnotes. The "Q" numbers denote questions and responses during oral evidence sessions. They too have been differentiated by Session.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 and with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts and Deregulation committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are at on the Internet.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Scottish Affairs Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6123; the Committee's e-mail address is:

1  Mr David Marshall MP (Labour, Glasgow Shettleston), was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 19 July 2001. Back

2  Appointed on 19 July 2001. Back

3  Appointed on 16 July 2001. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 28 November 2001