Select Committee on Science and Technology Minutes of Proceedings Report



Members present:

Dr Ian Gibson, in the Chair

Mr Parmjit Dhanda

Mr Tony McWalter

Mr Tom Harris

Geraldine Smith

Mr David Heath

Bob Spink

Dr Brian Iddon

Dr Desmond Turner

The Committee deliberated.

Resolved, That the Committee do inquire into Government Funding of the Scientific Learned Bodies, including The Royal Society and the Royal Academy of Engineering.— (The Chairman.)

Resolved, That the Committee do visit and take evidence at the Science Museum in connection with its inquiry into Science Education from 14 to 19.— (The Chairman.)

Cancer Research — A Follow-Up: Yvette Cooper, a Member of the House, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Public Health, and Dr Russell Hamilton, Regional Director of Research Development, Department of Health, were examined.

Professor Mike Richards, National Cancer Director, Department of Health, was further examined.


[Adjourned till Wednesday 13 February at Four o'clock.


previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 16 January 2003