Select Committee on Science and Technology Minutes of Proceedings Report



Members present:

Dr Ian Gibson, in the Chair

Mr Parmjit Dhanda

Mr Tony McWalter

Mr Tom Harris

Dr Andrew Murrison

Mr David Heath

Bob Spink

Mr Mark Hoban

Dr Desmond Turner

Dr Brian Iddon



The Committee deliberated.

Science Education from 14 to 19: Michelle Ryan, Science Teacher, Ricards Lodge High School, Wimbledon, James Salmon, Science Teacher, Anglo-European School, Essex, Hannah Strange, Science Teacher, Notting Hill & Ealing High School, and Corinne Stevenson, LEA Adviser, Hounslow Council, were examined.

Mike Collins, Science Teacher, Hengrove School, Bristol, Sylvia Thomas, Science Teacher, Darlaston Community School, Walsall, Dr Susan Turner, Science Teacher, Bishop David Brown School, Woking, and Ed Walsh, Science Teacher, Roseland Community School, Truro, were examined.

 Catherine Crocker, Technician, Esher 6th Form College, Surrey, Gillian Halton, Technician, Institute of Education, Manchester Metro University, Chris Peel, Technician, City and Islington College Sixth Form College, CLEAPS School Science Service, and Jean Skeggs, Technician, Hertfordshire LEA, were examined.

 Jane Clifford, FE Lecturer, Brooklands College, Surrey, and Chris Roberts, FE Lecturer, Bradford College, were examined.

Dr David Moore, Chief Executive, and Mr Derek Bell, past Chair, Association for Science Education; Judith Norrington, Director of Curriculum and Quality, and Maggie Scott, Curriculum and Quality Adviser, Association of Colleges, were examined.


[Adjourned till Wednesday 10 April at Four o'clock.


previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 16 January 2003