Select Committee on Science and Technology Minutes of Proceedings Report



Members present:

  Dr Ian Gibson, in the Chair

Mr Tom Harris

Mr David Heath

Mr Tony Mc Walter

Bob Spink

Dr Andrew Murrison

Dr Desmond Turner


The Committee deliberated.

Resolved, That the Committee do take oral evidence from Professor David King, Chief Scientific Adviser to the Government, and Dr John Taylor, Director General of the Research Councils, on the work of the Office of Science and Technology.— (The Chairman.)

Dr Gibson declared a non-pecuniary interest as a former Royal Society Research Fellow.

Government Funding of the Scientific Learned Societies: Lord May of Oxford, President, Professor Julia Higgins, DBE, Vice President and Foreign Secretary and Mr Stephen Cox, Executive Secretary, the Royal Society were examined.

 Sir Alec Broers, President, Professor Ann Dowling, Vice President and Mr Jon Burch, Executive Secretary, the Royal Academy of Engineering, were examined.


  [Adjourned till Monday 13 May at Four o'clock.


previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 16 January 2003