Select Committee on Science and Technology Minutes of Proceedings Report



Members present:

Dr Ian Gibson, in the Chair

Mr Parmjit Dhanda

Mr Tony McWalter

Mr Tom Harris

Dr Andrew Murrison

Mr David Heath

Geraldine Smith

Dr Brian Iddon

Dr Desmond Turner


The Committee deliberated.

Resolved, That the Committee do visit Japan in connection with its inquiry entitled

Towards a Non-carbon Fuel Economy: Research, Development and Demonstration.

Ordered, That the Chairman do seek the approval of the Liaison Committee for expenditure in connection with the said visit.

Dr Iddon declared a non-pecuniary interest as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and declared that he would not take part in the proceedings relating to that body.

 Government Funding of Scientific Learned Societies: Mr David Clarke, Chief Executive, Professor Wendy Hall, Vice-President and Professor John McDermid, Vice-President, British Computer Society, were examined.

 Dr Rita Gardner, Chief Executive and Mr Elliot Robertson, Policy Director, Royal Geographic Society, were examined.

 Dr David Giachardi, Chief Executive and General Secretary, Dr Barry Price, Honorary Treasurer, Mrs Libby Steele, Manager, Professional Education and Development, and Dr Stephen Benn, Parliamentary Affairs Officer, Royal Society of Chemistry, were examined.

 Dr Peter Briggs, Chief Executive and Dr Roland Jackson, incoming Chief Executive, British Association for the Advancement of Science; and Dame Bridget Ogilvie, Chair and Professor Ian Halliday, Council Member, Copus were examined.


  [Adjourned till Wednesday 19 June at half past Four o'clock.


previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 16 January 2003