Select Committee on Science and Technology Minutes of Proceedings Report



Members present:

  Dr Ian Gibson, in the Chair

Mr Pamjit Dhanda

Dr Andrew Murrison

Mr David Heath

Geraldine Smith

Mr Mark Hoban

Bob Spink

Dr Brian Iddon

Dr Desmond Turner

Mr Tony McWalter



The Committee deliberated.

Draft Report (Short Term Contracts in Science and Engineering), proposed by the Chairman, brought up and read the first time.

Ordered, That the draft Report be read a second time, paragraph by paragraph.

Paragraphs 1 to 124 read and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the Eighth Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Report to the House.

Ordered, That the provisions of Standing Order No. 134 (Select committees (reports)) be applied to the Report.

Several papers were ordered to be appended to the Minutes of Evidence.

Ordered, That the Appendices to the Minutes of Evidence taken before the Committee be reported to the House.—(The Chairman.)

Several papers were ordered to be reported to the House.

Mr Tom Delay, Chief Executive, and Dr David Vincent, Technical Director, the Carbon Trust were examined.

Mr John Acton, Chief Executive and Director of Engineering, Compact Power Ltd;

Dr Nigel Brandon, Chief Executive Officer, Ceres Power Ltd; Dr Andrew Garrad, Director, Garrad Hassan & Partners Ltd; Dr Tony Trapp, Managing Director, the Engineering Business Ltd; and Mr Philip Wolfe, Executive Chairman, Intersolar Group Plc, the Renewable Power Association, were examined.


Dr Christopher Anastasi, Senior Environment Adviser, British Energy, was examined.


  [Adjourned till Wednesday 13 November at Four o'clock.


previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 16 January 2003