Select Committee on Science and Technology Second Special Report

The Science and Technology Committee

The Science and Technology Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of Science and Technology and its associated public bodies. Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders Nos. 137A and 152.

  The Committee has a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:[1]

    Mr Parmjit Dhanda MP (Labour, Gloucester)
    Dr Ian Gibson MP (Labour, Norwich North)
    Mr Tom Harris MP (Labour, Glasgow Cathcart)
    Mr David Heath MP (Liberal Democrat, Somerton and Frome)
    Mr Mark Hoban MP (Conservative, Fareham)
    Dr Brian Iddon MP (Labour, Bolton South East)
    Mr Tony McWalter MP (Labour, Hemel Hempstead)
    Dr Andrew Murrison MP (Conservative, Westbury)
    Geraldine Smith MP (Labour, Morecambe and Lunesdale)
    Bob Spink MP (Conservative, Castle Point)
    Dr Desmond Turner MP (Labour, Brighton Kemptown)

    On 14 November 2001, the Committee elected Dr Ian Gibson its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to make Reports to the House and to appoint a sub-committee.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees of either House of Parliament for the purposes of deliberating or taking evidence, and may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees or sub-committees. The Committee may meet with other committees of the House of Commons for the purpose of considering draft reports.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at .

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Science and Technology Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2794; the Committee's e-mail address is: .

1   Appointed on 12 November 2001. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 28 November 2001