Select Committee on Science and Technology Fifth Report


Tuesday 5 February 2002 Visit to the Royal Society

Meeting with:  Lord May of Oxford  President

Dame Julia Higgins  Foreign Secretary

Sir Eric Ash  Treasurer

Professor John Enderby  Vice President and Physical Secretary

Stephen Cox  Executive Secretary

Dr David Boak  Director Communications

Dr Peter Collins  Director Science Policy

Ian Cooper  Director Administration and Finance

Dr Helen Pask  Head of Special Projects

Dr Ling Thompson  Head of International Affairs

Dr Yolanda de Miguel  Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow

Dr John Morrow  Royal Society Industry Fellow

Briefings by:  Stephen Cox  The work of the Royal Society

Dame Julia Higgins  Women in science and the Royal Society

Dr Ling Thompson  International activities

Dr Yolanda de Miguel  Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships

Dr John Morrow  Industry Fellowships

Discussion and lunch  

Thursday 6 March 2002 Visit to the Royal Academy of Engineering

Meeting with:  Sir Alec Broers  President

Fellows:      Mr David Bayliss  Halcrow Fox

Sir David Davies  Railway Safety

Professor Ann Dowling  Cambridge University

Mr Peter Ewins  Met Office

Professor Hugh Griffiths  UCL

Professor Wendy Hall  Southampton

Dr Jeffrey Herbert  Concentric

Professor Andy Hopper  AT&T/Cambridge

Dr Julia King  Rolls-Royce

Sir Duncan Michael  Arup Group

Dr Scott Steedman  Whitby Bird and Partners

Professor Lionel Tarassenko  Oxford University

Professor Roger Whatmore  Cranfield University

Award holders:  Professor Mike Sharples  Birmingham/Kodak

Dr Paola Lettieri  UCL

Dr Ambrose Taylor  Imperial College

Professor Ken Hunt  Glasgow University

Paul Dolan  Sainsbury Management Fellowship

Staff:          Jon Burch  Executive Secretary

Keith Davies  Director, Engineering Affairs

Bob Ditchfield  Director, Education Affairs

Ashley Thomas  Director, Finance and Corporate Services

Brian Doble  Manager, Engineering Policy

Jane Sutton  Manager, Public Relations

Briefings by:  Sir Alec Broers  President

Jon Burch  Chief Executive

Professor Mike Sharples  Kodak/Royal Academy of Engineering Research Professor

Dr Paola Lettieri  Royal Academy of Engineering Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

Professor Ken Hunt  Industrial Secondee

Discussion and lunch

Monday 22 April 2002 Visit to the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Meeting with:   Sir William Stewart FRS FRSE  President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Professor A C Walker FRSE  Vice President

Professor Wilson Sibbett FRS   Chairman of the Scottish Science

FRSE   Advisory Committee

Professor John Coggins FRSE

Dr William Duncan  Executive Secretary

Dr Lesley Glasser  Young People's Programme Convenor

Dr Marc Rands  Research Officer

Dr Harinee Selvadurai  Education Officer

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 1 August 2002