Select Committee on Statutory Instruments Minutes of Proceedings Report


The Select Committee on Statutory Instruments is appointed to consider all statutory instruments laid only before the House of Commons.

The Committee is empowered to draw the special attention of the House to an instrument on any one of a number of grounds specified in the Standing Order under which it works; or on any other ground which does not impinge upon the merits of the instrument or the policy behind it.


The membership of the Committee during the Session 2001-02 was as follows:[1]

Mr David Tredinnick MP (Conservative, Bosworth) (appointed Chairman, 10 July 2001)

Andrew Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish)

Mr Jeffrey M. Donaldson MP (Ulster Unionist, Lagan Valley)

Huw Irranca­Davies MP (Labour, Ogmore)[2]

Chris Mole MP (Labour, Ipswich)[3]

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)[4]

Brian White MP (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)


The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 151, available on the Internet via


The reports of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House of Commons. All publications of the Committee are available on the Internet from instruments.cfm.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Select Committee on Statutory Instruments, Delegated Legislation Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2830; the Committee's e­mail address is:

1   Mr Harold Best was appointed on 2 July 2001 and discharged on 10 May 2002. Mr Ivan Henderson was appointed on 2 July 2001 and discharged on 10 May 2002. Mr Jonathan Djanogly was appointed on 2 July 2001 and discharged on 23 May 2002. Back

2   Appointed 10 May 2002. Back

3   Appointed 10 May 2002. Back

4   Appointed 23 May 2002. Back

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 15 April 2003