Select Committee on Transport, Local Government and the Regions Ninth Report


The Transport, Local Government and the Regions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions and its associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mr Andrew F Bennett MP (Labour, Denton and Reddish) (Chairman) †‡

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody MP (Labour, Crewe & Nantwich) (Chairman) †‡

Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield Attercliffe)

Mr Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist, East Londonderry)

Mr John Cummings MP (Labour, Easington)

Mr Brian H Donohoe MP (Labour, Cunninghame South)

Mrs Louise Ellman MP (Labour/Co-operative, Liverpool Riverside) †‡

Mr Chris Grayling MP (Conservative, Epsom and Ewell) †‡

Helen Jackson MP (Labour, Sheffield Hillsborough)

Ms Oona King MP (Labour, Bethnal Green and Bow)

Miss Anne McIntosh MP (Conservative, Vale of York) †‡

Mr Bill O'Brien MP (Labour, Normanton)

Dr John Pugh MP (Liberal Democrat, Southport) †‡

Christine Russell MP (Labour, City of Chester)

Mr George Stevenson MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent South)

Mr Bill Wiggin MP (Conservative, Leominster)

† Member of the Transport Sub-committee  

‡ Member of the Urban Affairs Sub-committee


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No.152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 3266; the Committee's e-mail address is: .


In the footnotes of this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number. References to written evidence are indicated by the memorandum number, eg RTS 01.

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 19 June 2002