Select Committee on Transport, Local Government and the Regions Appendices to the Minutes of Evidence

Supplementary note by the Department of Health (RTS 151A)


  Mr Austin: to ask the Secretary of State for Health if he will list the members and terms of reference of the accident prevention task force; when it is expected to meet; what its priorities are; and if he will make a statement. [132109]

  Yvette Cooper (holding answer 24 July 2000): The Task Force to advise on the prevention of accidental injuries, promised in the White Paper, Saving Lives: "Our Healthier Nation" will hold its initial meeting on a date to be arranged this autumn. The Task Force will be chaired by the Department of Health and involve other Government Departments as observers. Details of members are given. Its terms of reference are:

  Taking account of Saving Lives and other initiatives in hand to reduce the burden of accidental injury, advise the Chief Medical Officer on:

    —  the most important priorities for immediate action in order to meet the target;

    —  the development of an implementation plan, consulting with other stakeholders where necessary;

    —  whether the necessary delivery structures are in place to take forward the implementation plan; and

    —  how progress on the implementation plan should be monitored how to develop and publicise a more unified approach to accident prevention across Government and the National Health Service.

  A report with recommendations should be submitted to CMO within one year of its first meeting.

  Accident Task Force Membership.

  Wendy Broome—Senior Road Safety Officer, Hertfordshire County Council.

  Professor Yvonne Carter—Professor of General Practice and Primary Care.

  Ashley Martin—Peterborough City Council, Director of the Institute of Home Safety.

  Dr Stephen Morton—Director of Public Health, East Lancashire HA; Co-ordinator of the NW Regional Accidents Task Force.

  David Moss—Chief Executive, Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust.

  Dr Gabriel Scally—Director of Public Health, South West Regional Office.

  Carol Sherriff—Director of the Child Prevention Accident Trust.

  Dr Liz Towner—University of Newcastle upon Tyne, Department of Community Child Health.

  John Ransford/Nominee—Local Government Association.

H C Deb, 27 July 2000, Col 754W.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 5 July 2002