Select Committee on Transport, Local Government and the Regions Appendices to the Minutes of Evidence

Annex 2


  There are currently 25 police force areas that have been formed into safety camera partnerships with local authorities and magistrates courts. These comprise:

  The eight pilot areas that started from April 2000:

    —  Cleveland, Essex, Lincolnshire, Nottingham, Northamptonshire, South Wales, Strathclyde and Thames Valley.

  The seven new areas approved as the first group to roll-out from October 2001:

    —  Cambridgeshire, Derbyshire, Lancashire, Norfolk, North Wales, Staffordshire and Warwickshire.

  The next 10 areas approved to start from April 2002:

    —  Avon and Somerset, Bedfordshire, Dyfed Powys, Fife, Gwent, Hampshire, Leicestershire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire and Wiltshire.

  Other partnerships are being formed and it is expected that more will be approved to start in July and October 2002. The remainder that wish to join the scheme are expected to submit operational cases to the Safety Camera Project Board when they are ready during the next 12 to 18 months.

  There are 43 police forces in England and Wales and eight in Scotland. Details of these arrangements are provided in the DTLR Memorandum submitted to the Committee.

  Northern Ireland is separately administered and is developing its own plans to develop a netting-off scheme.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 5 July 2002