Select Committee on Transport Second Special Report


The Transport, Local Government and the Regions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Transport and its associated public bodies.

Current Membership

Mrs Gwyneth Dunwoody MP (Labour, Crewe & Nantwich) (Chairman)

Tom Brake MP (Liberal Democrats, Carshalton and Wallington)

Mr Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist, East Londonderry)

Mr Brian H Donohoe MP (Labour, Cunninghame South)

Clive Efford MP (Labour, Eltham)

Mrs Louise Ellman MP (Labour/Co-operative, Liverpool Riverside)

Chris Grayling MP (Conservative, Epsom and Ewell)

Helen Jackson MP (Labour, Sheffield Hillsborough)

Mr George Stevenson MP (Labour, Stoke-on-Trent South)

Mr Graham Stringer MP (Labour, Manchester Blackley)

Mr Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole)



The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No.152. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Committee, Committee Office, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 6263; the Committee's e-mail address is:


contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Prepared 4 November 2002