Select Committee on Trade and Industry First Report

  The Trade and Industry Committee is appointed to examine on behalf of the House of Commons the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department of Trade and Industry (and any associated public bodies). Its constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 152.

The Committee has a maximum of eleven members, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is three. The members of the Committee are appointed by the House and unless discharged remain on the Committee until the next dissolution of Parliament. The present membership of the Committee is as follows* :

    Roger Berry MP (Labour, Kingswood
    Richard Burden MP (Labour, Birmingham Northfield
    Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch
    Jonathan Djanogly MP (Conservative, Huntingdon
    Lindsay Hoyle MP (Labour, Chorley
    Dr Ashok Kumar MP (Labour, Middlesborough South and East Cleveland
    Andrew Lansley MP (Conservative, Cambridgeshire South)**
    Jackie Lawrence MP (Labour, Preseli, Pembrokeshire
    Martin O'Neill MP (Labour, Ochil
    Linda Perham MP (Labour, Ilford North
    Sir Robert Smith MP (Lib Dem, West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine

    On 17 July 2001, the Committee elected Mr Martin O'Neill as its Chairman.

The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, and to make Reports to the House. In the footnotes to this Report, references to oral evidence are indicated by 'Q' followed by the question number, references to the written evidence are indicated by 'Ev' followed by a page number.

The Committee may meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved) and at any place within the United Kingdom. The Committee may meet concurrently with other committees or sub-committees established under Standing Order No. 152 and with the House's European Scrutiny Committee (or any of its sub-committees) for the purpose of deliberating, taking evidence or considering draft reports. The Committee may exchange documents and evidence with any of these committees, as well as with the House's Public Accounts, Deregulation and Environmental Audit committees.

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the end of this volume.

All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Trade and Industry Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 5779/5777; the Committee's e-mail address is:

*Mr John Whittingdale MP (Conservative, Maldon and Chelmsford East) was appointed on 16 July 2001 and discharged on 29 October 2001.
§Appointed on 16 July 2001
**Appointed on 29 October 2001

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 6 December 2001