European Arrest Warrant and Surrender Procedures Between Member States

[back to previous text]

Mr. Maples: Further to that point order, Mr. Griffiths. I received a copy of the text to which I referred from the Library last week. I took the trouble today of getting the package of papers from the Vote Office, and I have just checked the wording of the paragraph in that text, and it is exactly the same. This seems absolutely inexcusable on the part of the Government. Many of us have spent hours in preparation for this Committee, because we consider it an extremely important matter. We have set aside the afternoon, and I have cancelled several other meetings so as to be able to attend. The Government owe us a huge apology. We would like to know who is to blame for wasting the time of this Committee. Many hon. Members who are not permanent members of this Committee have taken the trouble to come here today. Such a lapse is quite extraordinary.

The Chairman: We shall see whether the matter can be sorted out. If there are significant problems and changes, I will rule that the Committee be adjourned until a later date.

5.12 pm

Sitting suspended.

5.16 pm

On resuming—

The Chairman: I must rule on the matter. The Committee has the most up-to-date text, but unfortunately the Minister does not have the same text. In those circumstances, although hon. Members might ask questions about only two or three points in the whole document, it would not be appropriate or satisfactory for the Minister to try to answer them. I shall therefore adjourn the Committee until a convenient date.

Debate adjourned—[Mr. Hopkins.]

Adjourned accordingly at seventeen minutes past Five o'clock.

The following Members attended the Committee:

Griffiths, Mr. Win (Chairman)
Cairns, David
Griffiths, Jane
Hopkins, Mr.
Johnson, Mr. Boris
Palmer, Dr.
Picking, Anne

The following also attended, pursuant to Standing Order No. 119(5):

Ainsworth, Mr. Bob (Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Home Office)
Dunwoody, Mrs. Gwyneth (Crewe and Nantwich)
Hawkins, Mr. Nick (Surrey Heath)
Hughes, Simon (Southwark, North and Bermondsey)
Maples, Mr. John (Stratford-on-Avon)
Stoate, Dr. Howard (Dartford)
Stringer, Mr. Graham (Lord Commissioner to the Treasury)

Previous Contents

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries ordering index

©Parliamentary copyright 2001
Prepared 3 December 2001