House of Commons portcullis
House of Commons
Session 2002 - 03
Publications on the internet
Summary Agendas and Orders of Business

Order of Business 9 April 2003

Here you can browse the House of Commons Order of Business for 9 April 2003.

* indicates a question for oral answer.
[R] indicates that the Member has declared a relevant interest.
Questions for oral answer not reached receive a written answer.
Supplementary questions will also be asked. Other Ministers may also answer.

+ indicates Government business.
Timings are indicative only.

At 11.30 a.m.      Prayers

Private Business

        Note: Private business is not debated at this time, and may not be proceeded with if opposed.

Second Reading

Transas Group Bill. (By Order).

      Mr Chris Pond
        On Second Reading of the Transas Group Bill, to move, That the Bill be read a second time upon this day six months.

[Bill to be referred to the Examiners]

Oral Questions to the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
*1 Mr Henry Bellingham (North West Norfolk):    When he next expects to meet representatives of small firms to discuss administrative burdens on business.
( 107067 )
*2 Mr Adrian Bailey (West Bromwich West):    What recent discussions he has held with the Northern Ireland party leaders about the future of the devolved institutions.
( 107068 )
*3 Helen Jackson (Sheffield, Hillsborough):    What assessment he has made of the likely impact of the Assets Recovery Agency in Northern Ireland.
( 107069 )
*4 John Robertson (Glasgow, Anniesland):    If he will make a statement on the restoration of devolution in Northern Ireland.
( 107070 )
*5 Mr Bill O'Brien (Normanton):    What plans he has to allow local authorities in Northern Ireland more powers to provide services demanded by local communities; and if he will make a statement.
( 107071 )
*6 Mr Michael Connarty (Falkirk East):    What recent discussions he has had on the prospects for re-establishing the Northern Ireland Assembly.
( 107072 )
*7 Andrew Selous (South West Bedfordshire):    How many (a) punishment beatings and (b) forced exclusions there have been in Northern Ireland in the year to 31st March 2003; and if he will make a statement.
( 107073 )
*8 Mr Hugo Swire (East Devon):    What discussions he has had with Sinn Fein/IRA about the early return of exiles to Northern Ireland.
( 107074 )
*9 David Taylor (North West Leicestershire):    What recent progress has been made in decommissioning terrorist weapons.
( 107075 )
*10 Angela Watkinson (Upminster):    Whether representatives from every bereaved family have been invited to the official opening ceremony of the RUC Garden of Remembrance.
( 107076 )
*11 Ann McKechin (Glasgow, Maryhill):    What recent talks he has had with the political parties in Northern Ireland on the future of political institutions.
( 107078 )
*12 Colin Burgon (Elmet):    What recent discussions he has had on the prospects for re-establishing the Northern Ireland Assembly.
( 107079 )
*13 Bob Spink (Castle Point):    If he will make a statement on decommissioning.
( 107080 )
*14 Mike Gapes (Ilford South):    What recent talks he has had with Northern Ireland party leaders on the future of devolution in Northern Ireland.
( 107081 )

At 12 noon
Unless otherwise indicated the Members listed below will ask a question without notice.
Oral Questions to the Prime Minister
*Q1 Mr Michael Jack (Fylde):    if he will list his official engagements for Wednesday 9th April.
( 107852 )
*Q2 Mr Don Foster (Bath):    
( 107853 )
*Q3 Ms Oona King (Bethnal Green & Bow):    
( 107854 )
*Q4 Dr Stephen Ladyman (South Thanet):    
( 107855 )
*Q5 Mr Malcolm Savidge (Aberdeen North):    
( 107856 )
*Q6 Ms Meg Munn (Sheffield, Heeley):    
( 107857 )
*Q7 Linda Gilroy (Plymouth, Sutton):    
( 107858 )
*Q8 Miss Anne McIntosh (Vale of York):    
( 107859 )
*Q9 Phil Sawford (Kettering):    
( 107860 )
*Q10 Mr James Clappison (Hertsmere):    
( 107861 )
*Q11 Mr Gareth Thomas (Harrow West):    
( 107862 )
*Q12 Dr Nick Palmer (Broxtowe):    
( 107863 )
*Q13 Andrew Rosindell (Romford):    
( 107864 )
*Q14 Mr Wayne David (Caerphilly):    
( 107865 )
*Q15 Mr Simon Burns (West Chelmsford):    
( 107866 )

At 12.30 p.m.Urgent Questions (if any)
Ministerial Statements (if any)

Main Business

+  1  


[Until 7.00 p.m.]

      Mr Chancellor of the Exchequer


        Debate on the Budget Resolutions to be moved at the end of the Chancellor's Statement may continue until 7.00 p.m.

At the end of the sitting



        Proposed subject: Tourism and Exmoor (Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger).

        Debate may continue until 7.30 p.m. or for half an hour, whichever is later (Standing Order No. 9 and Order of 29th October 2002).



1Work and Pensions9.15 a.m.

9.30 a.m.
The Grimond Room, Portcullis House (private)
Subject: Childcare for Working Parents.
Witness: Baroness Ashton of Upholland, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Work and Pensions.
2Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions10.30 a.m.Room 15 (private)
3European Scrutiny2.30 p.m.Room 19 (private)
4Welsh Affairs2.45 p.m.

3.00 p.m.
The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House (private)
Subject: Empowering Children and Young People in Wales.
Witnesses: Funky Dragon (the Children and Young People's Assembly for Wales); Dr Roger Scully, University of Wales, Aberystwyth, and Professor Gill Jones, Keele University (at approximately 4.00 p.m.); UNISON (at approximately 4.45 p.m.).
5Public Accounts3.30 p.m.Room 15 (public)
Subject: A Safer Place to Work: Protecting NHS Hospital and Ambulance Staff from Violence and Aggression.
Witnesses: Sir Nigel Crisp KCB, Permanent Secretary and Chief Executive of NHS, and Mr Andrew Foster, Director of Human Resources, Department of Health.
6Science and Technology4.00 p.m.
4.15 p.m.
Room 8 (private)
Subject: UK Science and Europe: value for money?
Witnesses: Professor Julia Goodfellow CBE, Chief Executive, Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, Professor Sir George Radda, Chief Executive, Medical Research Council, and Professor Ian Halliday, Chief Executive, Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council; Professor Sir David King, Chief Scientific Adviser, and Dr John Taylor OBE, Director General of the Research Councils, Office of Science and Technology (at approximately 5.00 p.m.).
7Selection4.45 p.m.Room 13 (private)

[The decision of a Committee to sit in public may be rescinded without notice.]

Written Ministerial Statements to be made today
1      Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs:      Future of the Over Thirty Month Scheme (OTMS).
2      Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs:      Local inquiry into the Designation Order for a South Downs National Park.
3      Secretary of State for Northern Ireland:      Future of Antrim—Lisburn Railway Line.
4      Secretary of State for Northern Ireland:      Northern Ireland Discretionary Social Fund budget for 2003-04.
5      Mr Chancellor of the Exchequer:      Debt and Reserves Management Report 2003-04.
6      Parliamentary Secretary, Lord Chancellor's Department:      Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service's (CAFCASS) Corporate Plan 2003-06.
7      Secretary of State for the Home Department:      Rehabilitation of offenders.
8      Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs:      Dual-use exports to Zimbabwe.
9      Secretary of State for Defence:      2003-04 Key targets for the Armed Forces Personnel Administration Agency.


House of Commons home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 9 April 2003