Select Committee on Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Fourteenth Report

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and its associated bodies.

Current membership
Mr David Curry (Conservative, Skipton and Ripon) (Chairman)
Ms Candy Atherton (Labour, Falmouth and Camborne)
Mr David Borrow (Labour, South Ribble)
Mr Colin Breed (Liberal Democrat, South East Cornwall)
David Burnside (Independent Unionist, South Antrim)
Mr David Drew (Labour, Stroud)
Patrick Hall (Labour, Bedford)
Mr Michael Jack (Conservative, Fylde)
Mr Mark Lazarowicz (Labour/Co-op, Edinburgh North and Leith)
Mr David Lepper (Labour, Brighton Pavilion)
Mr Austin Mitchell (Labour, Great Grimsby)
Diana Organ (Labour, Forest of Dean)
Mrs Gillian Shephard (Conservative, South West Norfolk)
Alan Simpson (Labour, Nottingham South)
David Taylor (Labour, North West Leicestershire)
Paddy Tipping (Labour, Sherwood)
Mr Bill Wiggin (Conservative, Leominster)

The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the Internet via

The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at affairs.cfm.

A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this Report.

Committee staff
The current staff of the Committee are Gavin Devine (Clerk), Tim Jarvis (Second Clerk), Richard Kelly and Dr Kate Trumper (Committee Specialists), Mark Oxborough and Louise Combs (Committee Assistants), and Anne Woolhouse (Secretary).

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3262; the Committee's e-mail address is:

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 18 September 2003