Select Committee on Home Affairs Minutes of Proceedings Report

Tuesday 15 July 2003

Members present:
Mr James Clappison

Mrs Janet Dean

Mr John Denham

Mr Gwyn Prosser

Bob Russell

Miss Ann Widdecombe

David Winnick

Mr John Denham disclosed his interests pursuant to the resolution of the House of 13 July 1992. For details of declarations see Annex, p. 22ff.

Mr John Denham was called to the Chair.

The Committee deliberated.

Draft Special Report, proposed by the Chairman, brought up, read the first and second time and agreed to.

Resolved, That the Report be the Second Special Report of the Committee to the House.

Ordered, That the Chairman do make the Report to the House.

Ordered, That the Government's Response to the Fourth Report of the Committee [Asylum Removals] be appended to the Report.—(The Chairman.)

Home Office Departmental Report 2003: Mr John Gieve, CB, Permanent Secretary, Mr Martin Narey, Commissioner for Correctional Services and Permanent Secretary, Human Resources, and Mr William Nye, Director of Performance and Finance, Home Office, were examined.

[Adjourned till Tuesday 9 September at 9.30 am.

previous page contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004
Prepared 27 May 2004