Select Committee on Public Administration Fifth Report

The Public Administration Select Committee

The Public Administration Select Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the reports of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration, of the Health Service Commissioners for England, Scotland and Wales and of the Parliamentary Ombudsman for Northern Ireland, which are laid before this House, and matters in connection therewith and to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by civil service departments, and other matters relating to the civil service; and the committee shall consist of eleven members.

Current membership

Tony Wright MP (Labour, Cannock Chase) (Chairman)

Mr Kevin Brennan MP (Labour, Cardiff West)

Annette Brooke MP (Liberal Democrat, Mid Dorset and Poole North)

Sir Sydney Chapman MP (Conservative, Chipping Barnet)

Mr David Heyes MP (Labour, Ashton under Lyne)

Mr Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour, Luton North)

Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP (Conservative, Bridgewater)

Mr John Lyons MP (Labour, Strathkelvin and Bearsden)

Mr Gordon Prentice MP (Labour, Pendle)

Hon Michael Trend, CBE MP (Conservative, Windsor)

Mr Brian White MP (Labour, Milton Keynes North East)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the parliament.

Mr Anthony D Wright MP (Labour, Great Yarmouth)


The committee is one of the select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 146. These are available on the Internet via


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at A list of Reports of the Committee in the present Parliament is at the back of this volume.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Philip Aylett (Clerk), Clive Porro (Second Clerk), Chris Carrington (Committee Specialist), Jackie Recardo (Committee Assistant) and Jenny Pickard (Committee Secretary).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Public Administration Select Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 2LW. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3284; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Commons home page Parliament home page House of Lords home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003
Prepared 22 July 2003